About the Blog:

Guelph Politico is locally sourced and dedicated to covering the political and cultural scene in the City of Guelph. Est. 2008.

Monday, April 25, 2011

Good Bad Company

A lot of local ink has been spent talking about Marty Burke's two-for-six record for all candidate debates and forums in the current race. Well, Rabble.ca has put together a list of candidates from across Canada, who, like Burke, think that their thoughts and opinions about the issues important to their potential constituents aren't worth vetting before the very people they're asking to elect them. Some names are pretty familiar (check out the fifth name down in the Alberta list), but not all are Conservatives (there's one NDP and some Bloc guys), and there are several names who serve as their riding's current MP.
This is a very disturbing trend indeed, and I hope people across Canada take note of candidates of any party that see fit to skirt democratic institutions like the press and debates, and not give them their endorsement by voting for them. 
Interestingly, there is one name you won't see on here: Rob Moore, Conservative candidate of Fundy-Royal in New Brunswick and Minister of State (Small Business and Tourism). Why is this interesting? His Special Assistant for Communications is Michael Sona, the infamous c**k-blocker, I mean "Communications Director," of the Marty Burke campaign. Perhaps Moore knows something about taking Sona's advice that Burke doesn't...
  • Deepak Obhrai (CPC) - Calgary East
  • Rob Anders (CPC) -Calgary West
  • Michelle Rempel (CPC) - Calgary Centre-North
  • Jason Kenney (CPC) - Calgary South East
  • Stephen Harper (CPC) - Calgary South West
  • Devinder Shory (CPC) - Calgary North East
  • Dianne Ablonczy (CPC) - Calgary Nose Hill
  • Jim Hillyer (CPC) -Lethbridge
  • Peter Goldring (CPC) - Edmonton East
  • Laurie Hawn (CPC) - Edmonton Centre
  • LaVar Payne (CPC) - Medicine Hat
    • Julian Fantino (CPC) - Vaughan
    • Peter Kent (CPC) - Thornhill
    • Aijaz Naqvi (NDP) - Mississauga-Streetsville
    • Terence Young (CPC) - Oakville
    • Susan Truppe (CPC) - London-North Centre
    • Stephen Woodworth (CPC) - Kitchener Centre
    • Diane Finley (CPC) - Haldimand—Norfolk
    • Royal Galipeau (CPC) - Ottawa-Orléans
    • Theresa Rodrigues (CPC) - Davenport
    • Leanna Villella (CPC) - Welland
    • Kevin Moore (CPC) - Toronto Centre
    • Elie Salibi (CPC) - Ottawa South
    • Pierre Lemieux (CPC) - Glengarry-Prescott-Russell
    • Terry Anderson (CPC) - Hamilton Mountain
    • Marty Burke (CPC) - Guelph
    • James McLaren (NDP) - Ottawa South
    • Ed Holder (CPC) - London West
    • Patrick Brown (CPC) - Barrie
    • Peter Braid (CPC) - Kitchener - Waterloo
    • Chris Alexander (CPC) - Ajax-Pickering
    • Larry Miller (CPC) Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound
    • Corneliu Chisu (CPC) - Pickering-Scarborough East
    • Fred Slade (CPC) - Sudbury
    • Damian Konstantinakos (CPC) - Ottawa Centre
    • Phil McColeman (CPC) - Brant
    • Wally Daudrich (CPC) - Churchill
    • Rod Bruinooge (CPC) - Winnipeg South
    • Bev Pitura (CPC) - Winnipeg Centre
    New Brunswick
    • Rodney Weston (CPC) - Saint John
    • Robert Goguen (CPC) - Moncton-Riverview-Dieppe
    British Columbia
    • Donald Leung (CPC) - Burnaby-Douglas
    • Dona Cadman (CPC) - Surrey North
    • Mark Strahl (CPC) - Chilliwack - Fraser Canyon
    • John Koury (CPC) - Nanaimo-Cowichan
    • John Duncan (CPC) - Vancouver Island North
    • Jennifer Clarke (CPC) - Vancouver Centre
    • Ronald Leung (CPC) - Burnaby-Douglas
    Nova Scotia
    • Gerald Keddy (CPC) - South Shore-St. Margaret's
    • Randy Hoback (CPC) - Prince Albert
    • Kelly Block (CPC) Saskatoon-Rosetown-Biggar
    Northwest Territories
    • Sandy Lee (CPC) - Western Arctic
    • Daniel Petit (CPC) - Charlesbourg-Haute-Saint-Charles
    • Sylvie Boucher (CPC) - Beauport-Limoilou
    • Claude Pilote (Bloc) - Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean
    • Roger Pomerleau (Bloc) - Drummond
    • Richard Côté (Bloc) - Portneuf-Jacques-Cartier
    • Nicolas Dufour (Bloc) - Repentigny

    No comments: